Skip to main content
0

IAPSS, the International Association for Political Science Students, is proud to present project ARChive: Academic Research & Communication Hive. ARChive aims to teach and sharpen the soft and hard skills of political science students and early career researchers through a series of interactive Masterclasses from October 2023 to February 2024. The ARChive Masterclasses, a collaboration between the Academic & Programs Departments of IAPSS, are an excellent way to share knowledge and expertise with the political science community and help individuals improve their skills in the fields of research, writing, communication, and presentation.

All ARChive Masterclasses take place on Sunday and are free to attend. Attendees can receive a certificate upon request. A number of Masterclasses will be recorded and will be made available to IAPSS members through the IAPSS website.

For questions on ARChive: Academic Research & Communication Hive, please email academic@iapss.org.

Instructors

Dr Anya Kuteleva

Editor-in-Chief of Politikon: The IAPSS Journal of Political Science & Senior Lecturer in International Relations at the University of Wolverhampton

Anna (Anya) Kuteleva is an interdisciplinary scholar whose work intertwines international relations, development studies, energy security, and feminist-informed approaches to politics. Her research centers on the nexus between politics and sociocultural contexts in international relations and develops a cross-disciplinary methodological toolkit around the concept of discursive politics. She is particularly interested in politics in China, Russia, Canada, and the Central Asian region. In 2022, she joined the University of Wolverhampton in the UK as a senior lecturer in International Relations. Previously, she obtained a Ph.D. in Political Science from the University of Alberta in Canada and held a postdoctoral fellowship at the National Research University Higher School of Economics in Russia. She is the author of China’s Energy Security and Relations with Petrostates: Oil as an Idea (Routledge 2021) and published articles in leading academic journals, including Europe-Asia Studies, Eurasian Geography and Economics, Problems of Post-Communism, European Journal of International Security, and Energy Research & Social Science.

Anne-Marie Pazskowska

IAPSS Treasurer & M.Sc. in Political Science

Anne-Marie Paszkowska is a Journalism and Political Science alumna. In 2016, she participated in the CIEE Leadership Summit in DC, where candidates from 33 different nations focused on local community challenges. In 2021, she earned a Financial Markets certificate with Honors, offered by Yale. Anne-Marie took part in the “Young Leaders for the Future of Europe” initiative in 2022, which was run by Euractiv and the EU Parliament. She has pushed for the provision of free statewide legal help to students in Poland while actively involved in the Independent Students’ Union. While in high school, Anne-Marie began contributing to the media in the US and Canada, reporting on international conflicts and politics. Currently, she works as a BI Analyst, focusing on grant writing, market research, and policy analysis.

João Ramos

Crisis Observatory Think Tank Coordinator & Editor at Politikon: The IAPSS Journal of Political Science. PhD Candidate at the University of São Paulo

João Guilherme Ramos is a PhD candidate in International Relations at the University of São Paulo. Currently, he is acting as the coordinator for the IAPSS Crisis Observatory Think Tank and as an editor for IAPSS Politikon. João has a background working as a researcher and project manager for the Third Sector, as well as a political analyst in the private sector.

Laila Abo El-Enein

Political Theory Student Research Committee Member, Associate Academic Dean, Dr. Nermien Ismail American School & M.Sc. Political Science Candidate, The British University in Egypt

Laila Abo El-Enein graduated with a B.Sc. in political science from London South Bank University,  and is currently working towards an M.Sc. from the British University in Egypt, while also working full-time as an Associate Academic Dean at an international school in Cairo. She is writing her thesis on post-structuralism and security discourses in the Middle East. Her research interests include the Palestinian-Israeli conflict, security studies, and Marxism.

Lisa Carroll

Chair, Political Theory Student Research Committee

Lisa Carroll is an academic proofreader and editor with 3 years of experience. She holds a BA in Politics, International Relations, and Philosophy from University College Dublin, Ireland and is working to complete her MSc in Sustainability Studies at Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel, Germany. Lisa‘s academic work has spanned political science and transdisciplinary social sciences,  focussing primarily on issues of sustainability and climate change.

Ronald M. Castillo

Editor-in-Chief of A Different View: The IAPSS Academic Blog & Ph.D. Asia Pacific Studies Candidate at National Chengchi University, Taiwan

Ronald M. Castillo is a Ph.D. Asia Pacific Studies Candidate at National Chengchi University, Taiwan. Aside from being Editor-in-Chief of A Different View: The IAPSS Academic Blog, Ronald Castillo is also the President of the Association of Filipino Scholars in Taiwan (AFST). His research and publications all fall within the niche of mapping socio-political spaces, which he applies to his two advocacies, environmental management and LGBT rights.

Workshop schedule (please check back frequently as the ARChive team adds workshops):

October 2023

October 15th, 11:00 – 12:30 EST / 15:00 – 16:30 CEST / 20:30 – 22:00 IST.
Navigating the Publishing Journey for Students and Emerging Scholars, by Dr Anya Kuteleva, Editor-in-Chief of Politikon: the IAPSS Journal of Political Science & Senior Lecturer at the University of Wolverhampton.

  • This session will NOT be recorded.
  • Registration deadline: Saturday, October 14th at 20:00 CEST.
  • Registration form
  • This session is offered in cooperation with Politikon: The IAPSS Journal of Political Science.

October 22nd, 11:00 – 12:00 EST / 17:00 – 18:00 CEST / 20:30 – 21:30 IST.
Research Methods Module 1: Introduction to Research Methods, by Laila Abo El-Enein, Political Theory Student Research Committee Member, Associate Academic Dean, Dr. Nermien Ismail American School & M.Sc. Political Science Candidate, The British University in Egypt.

October 29th, 12:00 EDT / 17:00 CET / 21:30 IST. 
Assessing Sources: Constructing the Elements of Research, by João Ramos, Crisis Observatory Think Tank Coordinator & Editor at Politikon: The IAPSS Journal of Political Science. PhD Candidate at the University of São Paulo.

  • This session WILL be recorded.
  • Registration deadline: Saturday, October 28th at 20:00 CEST.

November 2023

November 5th, at 6:00 EST / 12:00 CET / 15:30 IST
The Power of Storytelling: Crafting Compelling Narratives in Academic Presentations, by Anne-Marie Pazskowska, IAPSS Treasurer & M.Sc. in Political Science.

  • This session WILL be recorded.

November 12th at 10:00 – 11:00 EST / 16:00 – 17:00 CET / 20:30 – 21:30 IST
Top Ten Academic English Mistakes and How to Avoid Them, by Lisa Carroll, Chair, Political Theory Student Research Committee & M.Sc. Sustainability Studies Candidate, Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel

  • This session WILL be recorded.

November 19th: NO WORKSHOP 

November 26th, 11:00 EST / 17:00 CET / 21:30 IST

Research Methods Module 2: Research Designs and Theoretical Frameworks, by Laila Abo El-Enein, Political Theory Student Research Committee Member, Associate Academic Dean, Dr. Nermien Ismail American School & M.Sc. Political Science Candidate, The British University in Egypt

  • This session WILL be recorded.
  • Registration deadline: Saturday, November 25th at 20:00 CET.

December 2023

December 3rd, 09:00 – 10:30 EST / 15:00 – 16:30 CET / 19:30 – 21:00 IST

Preparing a Successful Submission and Mastering Manuscript Revisions, by Dr Anya Kuteleva, Editor-in-Chief of Politikon: The IAPSS Journal of Political Science & Senior Lecturer at the University of Wolverhampton, UK.

  • This session will NOT be recorded.
  • Registration deadline: Saturday, December 2nd at 20:00 CET.
  • Registration form.
  • This session is offered in cooperation with Politikon: The IAPSS Journal of Political Science.

December 10th, 10:00 – 11:00 CET / 14:30 – 15:30 IST / 17:00 – 18:00 CST

Research Notes: Staking your Claim, by Ronald M. Castillo, Editor-in-Chief of A Different View, the IAPSS Academic Blog & Ph.D. Asia Pacific Studies Candidate at National Chengchi University, Taiwan.

  • This session WILL be recorded.
  • Further information on the session. (TBA)

December 17th, 11:00 – 12:00 EST/ 17:00 – 18:00 CET /21:30 – 22:30 IST
Research Methods Module 3: Data Collection and Analysis in Qualitative Research, by Laila Abo El-Enein, Political Theory Student Research Committee Member, Associate Academic Dean, Dr. Nermien Ismail American School & M.Sc. Political Science Candidate, The British University in Egypt.

December 24th: NO WORKSHOP – CHRISTMAS EVE

December 31st: NO WORKSHOP – NEW YEAR’S EVE

The 2024 schedule will be published in late 2023.

Close Menu